Hidden Oasis

Aaah what’s better than Sushi and Cocktails on a hot day? Half price sushi and cocktails on a hot day!

As fate would have it while adventuring in a 36-degree heatwave with my dear friend Ivana, we would stumble on one of the best restaurants I have been to in ages.

Where is this place? Kalk Bay! Kalk friggin’ Bay people! I know, compose yourself. For my international readers, Kalk Bay is a seaside gem on the False Bay coastline in Cape Town.

Having spent money on books, useless trinkets, fudge and sunglasses. My friend and I were in desperate need of seafood and drinks.

What’s a heatwave without Caipirinhas? Nothing!

As we trekked down the main road like two unfortunate desert trapped travellers desperately looking for an oasis, we had a come to Jesus moment. It was as if we were being signalled by a choir of Angels to stop. We looked up and there was a sign that read “Half price sushi and cocktails” Sorry? In a heatwave? You perfect specimen you!

The place, Osetra. My new favourite place seriously. Amazing location. Fantastic food. Majestic Cocktails.

Why haven’t you heard of this place? It’s new! They’ve just opened and it took a God fated heatwave for me to discover it.

Here’s everything you need to know about Osetra.

SUSHI

Their sushi is amazing! I mean why wouldn’t it be? They are across the street from the sea. However, as a self-proclaimed sushi connoisseur and having lived in Cape Town for a while now, I can happily say this was hands down some of the best Sushi I have had staying here. – Shout out to Chef Jeff!

COCKTAILS

I know things taste better when you pay half for them. However, they have amazing cocktails! From Long Island Ice Tea, fresh Caipirhina’s to bespoke shots and cocktails that were created for us off the basis of our tastes. The bespoke cocktail which we’ve dubbed the Chelsea or Chivana (Chelsea & Ivana) has changed my life, I will never drink another cocktail again. Genuinely.

 

FOOD

The food is incredible! I may not have had anything cooked, however, my friend’s plate of Fish And Chips was incredible. Fish might I add, caught by the fisherman 200 metres away.

After an amazing meal and being filled to the brim with half-priced bespoke cocktails. We decided it was time to leave. On our way out we spotted a street sign with a vegan waffle menu. I turned to the manager, Zubeida and asked, ” Do you really serve that here?” She called us back in and gave us free waffles. Not just any waffle. The Creme de la creme of waffles. I mean they were delicious! If you know me, you’ll know that I am on a constant hunt for amazing vegan desserts and treats. So this was ideal.

There’s a joke here in the Cape that from about Paarl onwards you’re going behind the boerewors curtain. Pure meat eaters. Lamb is a herb in those parts. From Muizenberg onwards you’re going behind the Lentil curtain most people are pescetarian or vegan. So it only makes sense that the best vegan waffle I have ever had can be found in Kalk Bay.

Why is this so important to me?

As you’ve come to know my food allergies/ intolerances have become so severe that I am almost being forced into adopting a semi-vegan lifestyle. So finding an eatery that has all my favourites, uses fresh ingredients, has a deep understanding of the food they serve, has wonderful specials and the amazing staff is a dream!

I need you to know this is the most unbiased review in the world. During my time there, the restaurant did not know me from a bar of soap. They had no clue I was a blogger. The restaurant was mostly full, and they went above and beyond with their food and their service anyway.

Osetra, you will be seeing a lot of me this Summer.

Added Extras

They are hiring! If you are a student looking for a holiday job in idyllic Kalk Bay. Email careers@osetra.co.za

You’re welcome!

Shoot! I think I might apply for the job if there’s a staff discount.

giphy1

New post Friday – Relationship Friday! It’s a surprise!

Leave a comment